from me to you

It is going to be a scorcher today.  I was outside before 9am and you could just tell. They are predicting over 100F (and I think it was almost exactly 11 years ago that Chicago had that deadly heatwave).

For whatever reason though I was craving a good strong cup of black tea, so that is what I am enjoying at the moment.  Need to make sure I keep myself hydrated as once again my feet have been swelling.

Yesterday was a stellar mail day.  I took advantage of my Amazon Prime trial and the books I ordered Wednesday, arrived!  In three boxes, no less.

The Art of Cars
Suzanne Fitzgerald Wallis

Our plan is to try and stick to Route 66, so we got a map and a guidebook.  Plus I splurged and got The Art of Cars.  I figure why not see it through the eyes of the folks at Pixar, and then go see it for myself.

Also in the boxes were two novels recommended by Daily Candy as well as their new book.  Oh, and these cook Pixar postcards and stationary.  I am thinking of using them to send letters from the road.  Who wants in?

I also got my "free" CD from BMG.  I have been a member for over a decade.  I don't have to send back reply cards, or I would never do it.  I got Eye to the Telescope. A lot of you have raved about her, and they are even selling it at Starbucks.

Oh, and speaking of the green siren, they are having an interesting promotion to tie in with their new summer drinks.  Send a text message "summer" to 66268, and answer the question.  Get it right, and you will get a free $5 Starbucks card.  I think the offical hunt starts Monday.  For more details, go here.

And for some eye candy, go here.  Amazing photographs.  Check out especially the mirror project.  Found via Super*Hero.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to from me to you

  1. FaerieKissed says:

    I'm always in for a postcard! Also, I tried the pomegranate frappaccino yesterday—YUMMMMMMM.

  2. ME! I would LOVE a postcard…If you get a chance that is.

    I too tried the pomegranate frapp and I have to say, I wanted more of a punch. It was refreshing and delicious though… I think I was looking for something stronger. I was hoping the tea they used was going to kick me!

  3. downthedip says:

    I think I've already told you… I prefer the tangerine frapp. I guess I'm just not a pomegranate juice person. The mango frapp from several years ago is still my favorite though.

  4. FaerieKissed says:

    well, nobody's perfect…..;)

Leave a Reply

