vox hunt: kitchen gadget

Show us your coolest kitchen gadget.

I really try not to play favorites, so I'll show you two:

This is my Cuisinart. It is chrome and has the old style buttons, which personally I think are better. I love watching it chop up a vegetable in a matter of seconds. Here it is pulverizing a zucchini, which I used to make zucchini fritters. By hand, this would have taken much longer, potentially put my fingers at risk of being nicked, and wasted much more of the vegetable.

And this is my Kitchen Aide stand mixer. I don't think they make this color any longer. Unfortunately the original box got destroyed in one of the moves, so I transported it in our car (the Cuisinart is in Chicago still).  On some level I think I had it in my head that I would spend some of my spare time making cookies. Of course, the cave room doesn't even have an oven.

Finally, while I don't have a photo (and it too is in storage with the rest of my kitchen), one of the coolest gadgets in my collection is a white piece of plastic shaped like a flower. I bought it at Sur La Table for under two bucks, and it will open just about any jar.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to vox hunt: kitchen gadget

  1. FaerieKissed says:

    I love my mixer. J loves my mixer. I try to use it every week (it's been two weeks this time) so he's gotten over the pinkness of it. I named it Isabella. It just seems like an Isabella.My food processor is a Black & Decker that needs to be replaced. I've had it for over 10 years (minimal use originally) but now that I use it more, I have discovered that it's not chopping and mixing everything. Nothing like a lump of fruit in your fruit sauce!

  2. chris says:

    Have you used any of the attachments you got for the mixer?

    Both my mixer and food processor are over 10 years old. Still going strong. Knocks on wood.

    When you are ready to replace the Black & Decker, keep an eye out
    over on Crate & Barrel. They usually have the older style models of
    Cuisinarts, which I think are better (the ones with 2 black buttons). I
    have the Cuisinart blender/mini processor combo that is the new style.
    I had to send it back after using it only a few times and it went poof
    and smoked up. They fixed it (at no charge even), but I still think the
    old style is better.

  3. FaerieKissed says:

    Yes, I have used my attachments. It's fun to make pasta! I made spaghetti and it was really good. It took a long time, but it was fun so I didn't mind.I tried using the slicer on a cucumber and wound up with a mess. Guess I'll have to practice. We finally purchased the food grinder so that I could use the pasta plates, but I haven't gotten around to it yet.

Leave a Reply

