book review : love and other impossible pursuits

Amazon recommended this book to me, so I checked it out at the library. I love when that happens, except then I fall in love with the book and am sad I have to return it.

This certainly isn't a book for everyone. It deals with child loss. Baby loss/SIDS, to be more specific, and what it does to a family. It also deals with infidelity, divorce, and step-parenting.

I think though that Ayelet Waldman does an amazing job in making the main character's guilt and grief real. And I think that is what sucks you in as a reader and makes the book so hard to put down.

The other characters are interesting too. There is the overprotective OB/GYN ex-wife who delivers every one of her patient's babies, the 5-year old stepson who is sometimes too smart for his own good, and of course the law partner husband who finds himself in the middle of it all.

As an aside, one of the things that I thought was cool is that although most of the book takes place in Manhattan, the city of Emeryville, California, is mentioned. It turns out that the author lives in Berkeley. B thinks he may have seen her browsing at Cody's one day with her husband, who is also an author.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to book review : love and other impossible pursuits

  1. I am so jealous at how good you're doing at reading. Plus, I like seeing whatyou're reading.

  2. Soleilmoon says:

    I think part of enjoying a good book is also having an understanding of what the author is offering.

  3. FaerieKissed says:

    I think I'll probably skip this book. Although your
    recommendations have yet to steer me wrong, it's probably not something
    I should read right now.

  4. chris says:

    Totally understand. As I said, I know that not everyone would want to go there.

  5. chris says:

    To be fair, I sometimes read when I can't sleep and then mess up my entire sleep pattern. Having to return the books probably helps keep me on target too.

  6. Eindoodle says:

    Having past experience or knowledge of what the writer has shared the reader can appreciate the book even moreso.

  7. chris says:

    I agree. In this case I have more frindge knowledge, versus first-hand knowledge.

Leave a comment