tip :: asparagus is in season

We have already had fresh asparagus a few times. I must say I forgot how good fresh asparagus can be. Plus it is pretty simple to make. No need for those fancy expensive pots.

Preheat your oven to 400F. Line a baking sheet with parchment or foil. Wash the asparagus and cut off the bottoms. Then put the asparagus on the baking sheet, sprinkle with olive oil, salt and pepper. Bake for 15-20 minutes until tender. Squeeze with fresh lemon if you desire.

We had some leftover so I made a salad:

To your favorite lettuce add chilled cooked asparagus that has been cut into bite size pieces, along with some mango and avocado slices. Dress with your favorite dressing. [I used a poppy seed dressing, but I think a simple vinaigrette would be nice too.]

You could make this a meal by adding grilled chicken or shrimp and maybe a sprinkling of chopped roasted nuts (like walnuts or pecans).

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to tip :: asparagus is in season

  1. FaerieKissed says:

    On the flight back from Maui last year, I learned that rather than cutting the asparagus, if you bend it, it will break right were the tough parts begin. It seems to work pretty well. And anytime I can actually get my hands on my food during prep, the more therapeutic the act of cooking becomes for me.

  2. chris says:

    This is good to know. I'll try it next time. Maybe I won't get as many stems on the kitchen floor.

Leave a Reply

