qotd: family circus

Share a story about your sibling(s) or a family member from when you were a kid. 
Submitted by Jenny Marie.

One summer morning as I was washing the breakfast dishes I noticed my sister at the window near the kitchen table. She seemed interested in this hole in the screen that was a little bit larger than a quarter. After a bit she went running off in the yard and I didn't think anything about it.

A few minutes later she returned with the hose. She decided that the hole in the screen was big enough to put the hose through and the next thing I know, the kitchen is being flooded with water!

I yelled at her to stop it, but she just left the hose, water flowing, in the screen and ran off. I managed to get the hose out of the window and started sopping up the water in the kitchen. My main concern was that there was a heating grate on the floor of the kitchen not too far from the window, and I knew (even at 12) that getting water down there wouldn't be good.

Once the water was under control in the kitchen I went outside and turned off the hose. Then came back inside and finished cleaning up the kitchen. I ended up having to mop the entire floor in addition to drying off the kitchen table and chairs and change my clothes. It took over an hour. I was livid with my sister and determined to get even with her.

I decided that I would see how she liked getting wet. I filled a plastic pitcher with water and waited for my sister's return. At this point the kitchen was immaculate and the only sign that there had been a flood there was a very wet towel hanging up in the bathroom.

Not too long after I saw my sister come skipping up the walkway. I couldn't believe she had a big grin on her face and not one of remorse. I decided that she really deserved what I was about to do. I waited quietly on the side of the entry to the kitchen for my sister to enter the house and turn towards the kitchen. I still remember as I jumped out and released the water, only to see our Mother coming in behind my sister. I managed to get out a "hi Mom" as the water in the pitcher soaked my sister. The smile on my sister's face suddenly made sense.

Needless to say my Mother was not amused. I was sent immediately to my room (which I shared with my sister). I tried to explain about how my sister had flooded the kitchen, but my Mom would hear none of it.

Of course my sister denied everything. Why would anyone put a hose through a window and flood the kitchen? Surely I was the crazy one.

Thankfully my Mom knew better than to just believe my sister. It wasn't like me to do such things. Still, I was caught playing with water in the house and was older (a whole 15 months) and should have known better. I am not sure what my punishment was beyond the entire incident .

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to qotd: family circus

  1. Roxy says:

    Now see, this is why I chose not to answer this qotd. Just reading YOUR post made me as livid as you must have been back then. My sister is 3 years younger than me, and every story that would come to mind would have been the same scenario. Only my parents were very strict on the "you're older so you should know better" idea, regardless of right/wrong/fair/justice. >_>;

  2. downthedip says:

    Me, I'm taking the fifth on this QotD. đŸ™‚

  3. Steve Betz says:

    I love being the youngest — I always got away with stuff like that! =P

  4. chris says:

    I hope you got a lot of hand me downs. ;)I actually find birth order fascinating. And now watching as my friends start to have children it is interesting to see it from a different perspective. I also think that is plays a larger role in relationships than we give it credit for.

  5. chris says:

    I hated when my parents would pull the 'you're older and should know better' and let my sister get away with stuff. It really sucked.I don't think it bothers me as much now. It is more humorous than anything. Probably has something to do with the fact that they are both gone.

Leave a Reply

