k-nuffle not nuffle

We had library books to return, so while we were in that neck of the woods, we decided to stop on Balboa Island. It is hot here, and a Balboa Bar sounded perfect. B got mine with half rainbow sprinkles and half chocolate sprinkles.

We lucked out and found parking without too much trouble. And since we were there, stopped in at the little bookstore. The woman working today offered us iced tea. It was Ginger Peach from the Republic of Tea. How can you not love such a place?

They don't carry a lot of books, but you can tell they think about what they keep on their shelves. I always find interesting things there. Today was no exception.

Mo Willems has several wonderful children's books (the Pigeon books, Knuffle Bunny, Leonardo the Terrible Monster, Edwina the Dinosaur, and the new Piggy and Elephant series), and has several new ones coming soon. The sequel to the Caldecott honor book, Knuffle Bunny (pronouced K-Nuffle, by the way), isn't due out until September. But guess what I came home with?!

I have already finished reading it (twice). It is a really sweet book. The story is cute and the art is amazing.

I just looked up the first Knuffle Bunny book, and discovered that one of the subjects listed is "self-service laundries". I couldn't make this stuff up if I tried.

Oh, and it looks like he is touring the west coast in September! I almost went to Wisconsin to see him when we lived in Chicago. I really regret not doing that.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to k-nuffle not nuffle

  1. Mama Tami says:

    The first Knuffle Bunny book is one of our favorites, so thanks for the heads up on the second one coming!

  2. chris says:

    It is supposed to come out mid-September. I am not sure how they had these copies at the bookstore. It is truly an enchanted place.I believe Mo Willems is going to be in your area for his book tour around that time. I have a feeling he is a hoot.Did you ever see Sheep in the Big City? He created that. It is so funny and silly but very witty too.

  3. Mama Tami says:

    No, I haven't seen Sheep in the Big City….is that a book? I do like all the Pigeon books a lot though. My kids love to tell that Pigeon "No!". I think it is so brilliant of the author to have created a book that gives kids the opportunity to tell someone no. Thanks for the heads up on the author tour… I'll have to look into that. 🙂

  4. downthedip says:

    I think one of my all-time favorite userpics on LiveJournal is one that has the pigeon saying, "Hey, can I drive the Internet?"

Leave a Reply

