a sad day for children’s and adult’s literature alike

Madeleine L'Engle has died. {link to NYT article}

Although she did write over 60 books, she will probably be remembered best for her book, A Wrinkle in Time. The series was recently reprinted and still sells about 15,000 copies a year.

I will probably remember most when she was the Writer in Residence for Victoria Magazine. How I loved that magazine and her stories.

A Wrinkle in Time
Madeleine L’Engle

I remember how she would talk about her life, especially about her family. Her husband was a fairly famous soap opera star. I think he was on All My Children for many years. One of the stories I recall was how she managed to get her children's sleep schedules such that it worked for a family whose parents were night owls.

I think the last book I read of hers was Troubling A Star, which came out in 1994. It takes place in Antarctica. I believe she actually traveled there to research the book, although I could be wrong.

She also wrote for adults. Another interesting work is Glimpses of Grace. It complies pieces of her work from all genres and offers daily reflections.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a sad day for children’s and adult’s literature alike

  1. Katiebell says:

    Oh this is sad. I remember listening to a casette tape of her reading a Wrinkle in Time…and interesting author. She will live on for generations in her writing.

  2. A Wrinkle in Time is one my all-time favorites. I am so sad to hear this news.

Leave a Reply

