a few things about pie

I still don't consider myself a pie expert, but I have learned a few things. As they relaunch "Pushing Daisies" soon, I figure I would post a few tricks I have learned as soon everyone will be wanting pie:

  • It is possible to make a crust without a food processor. All you need are your hands and a big bowl. I'd recommend cutting the butter into smaller pieces than usual, and freezing them for a bit longer before working them into the flour.
  • Always cook your pie on a rimmed baking sheet. A good pie will make a mess in your oven.
  • Choose the best fruit you can find and make sure it is very ripe when you make your pie. A bit overripe is okay, but fruit that is not ripe does not belong in a pie.
  • The easiest way to peel peaches is to mark an "x" on the bottom, drop them in boiling water for 20 seconds, and then ice water. The peel will just slide off with your fingers. Of course this only works well if your fruit is ripe.
  • Cooling your pie completely is key. You will be tempted to dig in, but don't – all your hard work will be wasted. The pie needs time to set in the cooling process. Expect it to take at least four hours. Go out and do something else during this time.
  • An ugly pie can still taste delicious.
  • Vanilla ice cream is great, but try something new with your pie. I highly recommend blueberry pie with strawberry ice cream and peach pie with cinnamon ice cream. And of course, coffee ice cream with cherry pie. Even better if you make your own ice cream to go with your homemade pie.

I still need to work on my crust. It is tasty, but not pretty. Next time I am going to try putting the dry ingredients in the fridge while the butter is in the freezer. I know at least once I overworked the dough. I have also underworked the dough. I will get it perfect one of these days.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a few things about pie

  1. cat says:

    Now I heard a good pie tip the other day. Hmm, let me think, now you know how sometimes your bottom layer of pastry goes a bit soft becuase of the filling laying on it – well you brush some egg over the base and cook it before you put the filling in then that will seal it so it stays crisp when the filling goes on it. I might make an apple pie tonight I think.

  2. chris says:

    So far haven't had that issue. I usually put my pie crust back in the freezer while I make the filling and roll the top crust. My problem is more when I roll out the dough, keeping it so it doesn't fall to bits.

  3. Katiebell says:

    you make it sound so good!

Leave a Reply

