make

December 6 ā€“ Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it? (Author: Gretchen Rubin) via Reverb10

Notice I did not say my bed. I’m a little too rock star for that.

The last thing I made was Thanksgiving dinner. It’s funny how I always forget the work involved, but I love doing it. It’s only once a year.

The hardest thing to find is red currant jam for the cranberry sauce. B actually found it at the local Ralphs, shortly after we returned from Berlin. He went out to get some food and came back with 2 jars of jam, along with a bag of potatoes, a roasted chicken, frozen green beans, some bread, and milk. It was quite an odd mix, and I wasn’t sure what I was supposed to make, but back to Thanksgiving.

There was a turkey, of course. And both yams and mashed potatoes. I also made green beans. I really wanted to keep it simple, and let the true flavors of the vegetables come through.

For dessert I made chocolate pecan pie and butternut squash pie. We actually took a cooking class before Thanksgiving to refresh our skills. That’s where we learned there was such a thing as butternut squash pie. It was the clear favorite of the class, so I figured why not. We also figured out that the reason people didn’t like the chocolate pecan pie we made in class was because the chocolate wasn’t melted before the pie was baked. I used a recipe we found in Everyday Food several years back.

I also made my grandmother’s stuffing. This is probably why I do all this cooking. It is a way of connecting with my family, who are no longer here. Ironically, she wasn’t a fan of her own stuffing, but made it because everyone else loved it so. Once again, it was a big hit.

My next cooking endeavor will be Lebkuchen, German gingerbread cookies, usually served at Christmas. Trader Joe’s seems to be having a problem with its seller of hazelnuts.

This entry was posted in reverb10. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to make

  1. Rosemary says:

    Oh, my god, you have a recipe for Lebkuchen? Please, please share if you dare. I grew up getting these huge tins of these cookies. Mine ‘mutti’ was German and did not bake, not a lick~ by the time she finished putting Betty in the oven ~ it was flatter coming out then going in. Would love a recipe for these – I miss them.

Leave a Reply

