community

December 7 – Community Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011? (Author: Cali Harris) via Reverb10

Honestly I am not sure how I would have survived six days in the hospital in Berlin without Facebook and Twitter. There was a moment after the incident in the lotion room where I understood how much I needed a bunch of people who were thousands of miles away, and many of whom I have never met.

I watched my iPhone as it left the edge of the table being pushed towards my bed with my dinner on it. It slide to the end of the table and then flew towards the wall, tethered to its charger cord. It smashed into the wall and bounced off of it. Thankfully it was fine, but in those few seconds I imagined what life would become in that hospital room without it. Suddenly what happened didn’t seem so bad.

Oh, and the incident in the lotion room? I basically had a panic attack and almost passed out a second time while I was in just my underwear and covered in lotion. The nurse had realized the catheter for my IV needed to come out and so removed it from my arm. I freaked out as I knew it meant they were going to try to insert another one. To make it more fun, she spoke little English, and my German, well….

As for community in 2011, it is one of my priorities. As much as I appreciate what I have, being in that hospital, did make me realize that I need to both expand and nurture the people in my life. While I have no doubt that there is little that B and I cannot handle, it is important to have a stronger safety net. It is clear that ours has a few holes in it – perhaps more than a few.

This entry was posted in reverb10 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

