wisdom

December 10 – Wisdom Wisdom. What was the wisest decision you made this year, and how did it play out? (Author: Susannah Conway) via Reverb10

Hands down, my wisest decision this year was to give up my fear & loathing of air travel. The last time I flew was in July of 2000. We went to New York from Austin, via Dallas. The flight there wasn’t bad, except that we had to leave for the airport at 3:30 in the morning and our connecting flight in Dallas was quite a hike.

On the way back, the weather got wonky up and down the East Coast. There were lightening storms. We ended up sitting on the tarmac for 3 hours before taking off. And of course in Dallas, we missed our connecting flight. It was close to midnight when we landed.

The airline was great and had a bus waiting to take us to a hotel. We were rescheduled for the first flight out in the morning, which we missed because we were exhausted. We also weren’t able to retrieve our luggage, and I had decided that after the hike on the way there, I was traveling as light as possible on the way back, so I had nothing with me.

We had to be at a meeting at work, so after using our food vouchers to get breakfast, we rented a car and drove the three hours to Austin. We headed straight for the office. And then had to go to the airport in Austin to see if our bags made it. Thankfully they did. But after that, I decided if I could avoid flying, I would. I remember the days when people dressed up to travel by plane. When everyone got real silverware, and the food at least seemed like someone was trying.

So this year I gave in and got on board. I was so nervous, I could barely speak while we grabbed something to eat at the International terminal at LAX. By the time the flight took after after refueling in Guam, I was feeling fine though. I remember how I used to love the feel of being in the sky.

The trip to The Philippines was an important one. It was my first visit. It ended with my mother-in-law saying to me, as we were dropped at the airport, “I’m glad you came.”

And the trip to Berlin, despite the Windpocken, it, too, was also important. I just can’t fully explain how yet.

This entry was posted in reverb10 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

