i always forgot how far lax is

I also get really confused about which way to go on the 605. Maybe because I once lived off the 605. It’s south to get there, and north to get back.

It has been a while since I did an airport drop off. It was back when we lived in Chicago. I think that the last time we spent this much time apart was when his youngest sister got married. That was when we had just returned to the Bay Area from Austin, almost 10 years ago. This would have been the first time we spent away from each other since we were wed, but the Windpocken took that away when it put me in the hospital for almost a week.

When I was in high school, we lived about 5 miles from LAX. My Mom would only pick up her sister from the airport. There was one time when I wasn’t able to go with her, and let’s just say, things didn’t go according to plan.

For starters, they got the wheel chair stuck in a revolving door. I have no idea either. The story was something about how the person helping them, abandoned them, so they didn’t know what else to do. Of course someone did eventually show up to help after they clogged the exit.

Then in all the chaos, it would seem my Aunt picked up the wrong bag. Of course, she thought someone had stolen hers. As it turned out, the bag she took was actually borrowed – they called the number on the tag to see if he had hers. I was actually locked away back at the airport. I got to make the switch first thing in the morning, before my Aunt got up.

I suspect these two weeks will fly by. I also suspect they will be difficult in their own way. I know some people would love to have all this time to themselves. Isolation though, isn’t always pretty.

This entry was posted in nablopomo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

