a lesson in quiche

It was 90F again in LA (it seems to spike and then spiral downward), so we stayed in today to stay cool.

I  waited until the sun set, then made this quiche, which somehow leaked through the crust and pan and all over the oven floor. It was still tasty, but oh what a mess.

I substituted bacon for the ham, and omitted the onions. I also made the crust from the quiche I made for Easter (basically Martha’s half a basic recipe, minus the sugar). I think it might have been the change in crust that caused the leak. The spinach quiche was much more firm before it went into the oven.

I’ve made the quiche lorraine before, using the crust in the recipe. I can’t remember if leaking was a problem or not. Guess I’ll have to make it again, and see.

This entry was posted in food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

